Geschichte

A small history of the Consciousness Studies Academy

On 22 January 2015 the idea, the vision and conception of a new, Consciousness Studies Academy in Vienna were presented in Vienna.
At that time as it was still thought as an institute for consciousness research, Dr. Rudolf Kapellner as founder and Daniel Dick as co-founder of the first hour, introduced to a surprisingly large number of interested people their ideas and plans for an independent and interdisciplinary institute. The focus of this presentation was the opening of "Consciousness spaces" at various levels and for all disciplines.

This starting presentation was followed by a year with various steps of development and intensive discussions.

The idea for an institutionalized academic consciousness research had been discussed by R. Kapellner long before with other, interested people - above all with Prof. Dr. Giselher Guttmann in 2005. During a meeting of G. Guttmann and R. Kapellner in January 2014, this project came up again and G. Guttmann the asserted his support with pleasure. R. Kapellner was invited to design a curriclum for consciousness research and presented it in a workshop at Sigmund Freud Private University in June 2014.

After the workshop at the SFU, it was quickly clear that such a comprehensive, interdisciplinary and radical approach to consciousness research, as developed and proposed by R. Kapellner, can not fit into existing academic institutions, but requires a completely independent and independent structure. Existing structures, both institutional and conceptual, have already made their conditions.

On June 23, 2014, at night in a Viennese jazz bar, the vision finally appeared, which convey the power for this kind of consciousness research:
It must be a "Universitas" - not a university, but a Universitas in the original and radical sense. A community of teachers and learners. A research and education space whose results may have the potential to revolutionize the existing paradigm of sciences.

In July 2014, R. Kapellner and Daniel Dick met. Daniel was the last tutor of Prof. Dr. Manfred Kremser's lecture "Religion and Consciousness Research" at the Institute for Cultural and Social Anthropology of the University of Vienna. The early death of M. Kremser in 2013 was also the beginning of the end of consciousness research at the department of social and cultural anthropology.
Manfred Kremser had been a teacher and a friend for R. Kapellner and D. Dick. It was a deep concern of both to continue with consciousness research as an academic subject and not to let it die away with the teacher.

The following months were filled with hours of talks and meetings with other people in similar subject areas.
In January 2015 time had come: an institute for consciousness research was presented, the foundation of it was officially announced and a first semester was presented.

In working groups with interested students and professors, the content, organizational, structural and legal requirements and key issues for such a mega project were outlined over the next months as well as a concrete workflow. The first lecture led by D. Dick “Perspectives on consciousness research” and the first block lecture "Basics of Inter- and Transdisciplinary Consciousess Research" by R. Kapellner were successfully held.

At the end of the first semester, the necessary decisions were clear: it is no longer an institute, it is an academy. The project was continued. This means: a second, third and fourth semesters were set up, the network was expanded, research projects were initiated, a sociocratic model as an internal organizational structure was decided, the legal framework was created and so on.

Further information can be found in the archive and in cooperations.

Geschichte

Eine kleine Geschichte der Akademie für Bewusstseinsforschung

Am 22. Januar 2015 wurden in Wien die Idee, Vision und Konzeption einer neuen, akademischen Bewusstseinsforschung in Wien vorgestellt.
Damals noch als Institut für Bewusstseinsforschung gedacht, sprachen Dr. Rudolf Kapellner als Gründer und Daniel Dick als Mitstreiter der ersten Stunde über ihre Ideen und Pläne für ein unabhängiges und interdisziplinäres Institut vor einer überraschend großen Zahl von interessierten Menschen. Der Schwerpunkt dieser Präsentation war das Öffnen von "Bewusstseins-Räumen" auf allen Ebenen und für alle Disziplinen.

Der Gründungspräsentation war über ein Jahr mit verschiedenen Entwicklungsschritten und intensiven Gesprächen voran gegangen.

Die Idee zu einer institutionalisierten akademischen Bewusstseinsforschung war von R. Kapellner schon lange vor der Gründung mit anderen, interessierten Menschen besprochen worden - allen voran mit Prof. Dr. Giselher Guttmann im Jahr 2005. Bei einem Treffen von G.Guttmann und R.Kapellner im Januar 2014 kam dann dieses Thema wieder zur Sprache, mit der Bekräftigung von G.Guttmann, dieses Projekt mit Freude zu unterstützen. R. Kapellner wurde eingeladen, ein Curriclum für Bewusstseinsforschung zu entwerfen und dieses in einem Workshop an der Sigmund Freud Privat-Universität im Juni 2014 zu präsentieren.

Nach dem Workshop an der SFU wurde rasch klar: solch eine umfassende, interdisziplinäre und radikale Art von Bewusstseinsforschung, wie von R.Kapellner entwickelt und vorgeschlagen, lässt sich nicht in bestehende akademische Institutionen einpassen, sondern verlangt eine vollkommen unabhängige und eigenständige Struktur. Denn vorhandene Strukturen - inhaltlich wie institutionell - haben bereits ihre Festlegungen getroffen; Bewussteinsforschung hier einfach nur dazu zu stellen, birgt Sprengkraft.

Am 23. Juni 2014, nachts in einer Wiener Jazz-Bar, erschien schließlich jene Vision, welche die Kraft für diese Art von Bewusstseinsforschung in sich tragen sollte:
Es muss eine "Universitas" sein - keine Universität, sondern eine Universitas im ursprünglichen und radikalen Sinn. Eine Gemeinschaft der Lehrenden und Lernenden. Ein Forschungs- und Lehrraum, dessen Ergebnisse das Potenzial haben können, die bestehenden Wissenschaften tatsächlich zu revolutionieren.

Im Juli 2014 begegneten sich R. Kapellner und Daniel Dick. D.Dick war Tutor von Prof. Dr. Manfred Kremsers Vorlesung "Anthropologische Bewusstseinsforschung" am Institut für Kultur- und Sozialanthropolgie der Universität Wien gewesen. Der viel zu frühe Tod von M. Kremser im Jahr 2013 war auch der Beginn des Endes der Bewusstseinsforschung an der KSA gewesen.
Manfred Kremser war für R.Kapellner und D.Dick ein Lehrer und ein Freund gewesen. Die Bewusstseinsforschung als Fach nicht mit dem Lehrer sterben zu lassen, war beiden ein tiefes Anliegen.

Es folgten Monate mit stundenlangen Gesprächen und Treffen mit anderen Menschen in ähnlichen Themenfeldern.
Im Januar 2015 war es dann soweit: ein Institut für Bewusstseinsforschung wurde präsentiert, die Gründung ausgerufen und ein erstes Pilotsemester vorgestellt.

In Arbeitsgruppen mit interessierten Studenten und Professoren wurden in den nächsten Monate die inhaltlichen, organisatorischen, strukturellen und rechtlichen Anforderungen und Eckpunkte für ein solches Mega-Projekt umrissen und konkrete Arbeitsprozesse begonnen. Die erste Werkstatt-Vorlesung unter Leitung von D. Dick und die erste Blockvorlesung "Grundlagen einer inter- und transdisziplinären Bewusstseinsforschung" von R. Kapellner fanden erfolgreich statt.

Am Ende des ersten Pilotsemesters waren die notwendigen Entscheidungen klar: Es ist kein Institut mehr, es ist eine Akademie. Das Projekt ist fortzusetzen. heißt: das zweite Semester konfigurieren, das Netzwerk ausbauen, Forschungsprojekte in Angriff nehmen, eine Soziokratie als interne Organisationsstruktur beschließen....

 

Das Ergebnis dieses fast schon stürmischen Entwicklungsprozesses sehen Sie u.a. in dieser Page.....